top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBriar Kirkland

Starting my Journey as an EFL Tutor

I began my journey as an EFL tutor whilst I was working a retail job in the UK. It was a friend of mine that inspired me to begin training as a tutor, as she had been telling me about the flexible hours that she worked around her everyday job. I had thought over the idea for a while before deciding to go ahead and sign up to the course that would enable me to become qualified in the field. This was a big decision for me as I had already completed my degree in the Performing Arts industry, which is a big leap from teaching English! However I decided that I liked the idea of helping others to achieve their dreams also, and set out to learn everything I could about teaching online.


What I found most surprising was how complicated my own language could be, even for a native speaker! This made me feel very empathetic towards students learning it as a foreign language, as I was having to learn a lot myself. What attracted me towards this qualification was that I could use it to teach in the UK and abroad! I have always wanted to travel the world and witness different countries and cultures, so the fact that I could do this after completing the course was amazing.


I understand that many tutors see this opportunity as a just another job on the side of their everyday work life, however, I see it as the opposite. I see this journey as a business venture that I can grow and expand every day, and I hope to meet many interesting people on the way and make as many friends as possible, from all over the world.


As an EFL tutor, it is my belief that both student and teacher need to be respectful of different cultures and beliefs, therefore, I will take my time getting to know each and every student so that I can


provide them with a positive and enlightening experience that makes them feel comfortable and at ease when they arrive at each lesson.


I will be using this blog to keep students up-to-date with any changes that I may make and any progress that I am making as an EFL tutor. Welcome to YourIdealTutor :)

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page